13 pita jungle

2011 was a year basically devoted to going with the flow for my family and me. The reason for this is because of a complete career change my parents both endured. In short, my family had to move from Sammamish, WA all the way down to Fullerton, CA in the span of a year.

The reason for the move was because my dad bought a franchise and planned to open it in Newport Beach. Pita Jungle started in Phoenix, AZ and has expanded to 15 stores with two more on the way. All of this has been going on since 1994. The restaurants are very vegan-friendly, along with other dishes for those who like protein.

It’s been almost 10 weeks since my dad has opened his restaurant, and I’ve already heard talks of horizontal movement for their company/brand. One thing I noticed that was somewhat unique to his restaurant was the installation of a full bar. Not all locations have that extra outlet in order to generate more revenue. Another horizontal movement for Pita Jungle is catering. Talking to the general manager of my dad’s location, he told me that catering at these restaurants makes a killing. I’d argue their location is a semi-horizontal movement, but they just lucked out getting such a great spot. Those three things, combined with a casual yet contemporary dining experience, make for a good night out on the town in Newport Beach. The 4.5/5 rating from Yelp! makes me believe that customers are having a good emotional connection to the newest eatery in town. The two times I’ve eaten there, I noticed smiling customers, smiling employees and a good overall atmosphere.

Check it out if you’re in the neighborhood!

2 thoughts on “13 pita jungle

  1. Cary Goronkin says:

    Great write up! Nice job.

  2. Going to have to go when I am home over break!

Leave a Reply

